HRT – Week 7 Check-in

Last week’s dose: 1mg oral Estradiol daily

Physical: A few occasional aches/twinges in the breast area here and there. At times, my breast area feels “heavy”; it’s hard to describe. My skin seems to be getting softer, but that could have something to do with the non-sunny, damp summer here in Seattle. :-p

Mental: I’m starting to feel more calm again, but it’s a creeping calmness rather than something that dropped down quickly. I feel more settled and at peace with taking hormones, and the changes they will eventually bring. I’ve had a few mild twinges here and there, which I attribute to panic trying to stampede me into freaking out. Luckily I’ve been able to battle it back with deep breathing and thinking happy thoughts.

Healthcare: I had my checkup with my doctor yesterday and received the all clear to up my dose. Yay!

We had a really thoughtful discussion about being trans and transition, she very gently encouraged me on my journey by pointing out that none of us get out of life alive, and that it’s best to be happy during it. We both agreed that I’m trying to transition and not hurt my wife at the same time, but that she was concerned for me in that I may be causing myself more pain by not moving along and not trying to hurt others.

I nearly started crying then.

It felt really good to have some validation and encouragement in person.

As we reviewed my dosage, I had been thinking about going a bit beyond my previous dosage of 2mg/day to 3mg/day. After discussing it with her, she wrote me a 3-month prescription for 2mg/day. I have follow-up appointment in two months, so I can use the extra prescription to go up to 3mg/day if I want to do that.

I’ve decided to go back to 2mg/day for a month, which I started today, and then increase to 3mg/day until I see her again. Woo!

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in healthcare, HRT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HRT – Week 7 Check-in

  1. Natasha says:

    I'm glad for you that you managed to get your dosage upped : )and I'm sorry that it's so hard for you to do this without hurting your wife. I was really scared when I told my partner, because I knew I couldn't not transition, but I also couldn't face hurting and/or losing her. I guess your going through something similar, although much worse : (

    I hope she does manage to be okay with it, and that you can transition without hurting her. Good luck and take care x

    Like

  2. Jenn Ifer says:

    Thanks, Natasha.

    Coming out to our significant others is always a hard thing to do, but in my experience, it's what happens afterwards that is even harder because things change and change is hard on everyone.

    I'm scared she'll leave me, but I'm doing as much as I can to be sensitive to her needs while trying to get mine met as well. It's a delicate balancing act. Mostly, I try every day to not take her for granted.

    Hugs,
    Jenn

    Like

  3. Pingback: HRT – Week 11 Check-in | Becoming Me

  4. Pingback: Three is the Magic Number | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

