HRT Week 2 Review

[Looking for information about male to female dosing and effects? Read my Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post.]

Week: 2

Dose: 2mg/day estradiol

Physical: More nipple twinges and zings, especially when I’ve been out and about shopping for clothes. The “heavy” feeling in the chest/breast area is increasing as is random itching feeling, especially around the nipples. I can also feel my breast buds, which shrank dramatically post-HRT, enlarging again. I’ve been paying a bit more attention to my diet, and I’m down about 1.5 pounds from last week.

Emotional: As I tweeted this past week, I’m starting to feel the early rollers of the roller coaster. Some of this is the realization of what I’m doing sinking in and part of it is hormonally enhanced.

Mostly, I’ve been pretty happy, except for today. I had some bad dreams last night (wife cheating on me, my grandfather’s death) and I started reading Janet Mock’s autobiography, which had dredged up sad memories and feelings of my own childhood. These brought me to some small tears this morning on the bus, and I’m fairly sure that wouldn’t have happened pre-HRT.

In my interactions with others, I’m consciously trying to spend more effort thinking about what I’m going to say so that it’s my brain and not my emotions.

In the hour or so before I take my dose, I find I’m jumpy and anxious, and I’m unclear if this is a low in hormone levels acting out, my desire to take my pill, or both. Interestingly, I want to take more – to ramp right back up to 4mg/day like I was before I stopped. Basically, I’m eager to move this process along.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in HRT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

