Less counseling, more living

I’m thinking about stopping my gender counseling.

I know I’m lucky to be able to have access to it in the first place, but I’ve been finding that my session discussions keep circling back to two things:

  1. Trans cultural representations
  2. Me meeting more trans people in person/going to support group meetings

As to the first, yes, I know about Janet Mock and Laverne Cox, and yes I’m familiar with how trans people are now represented in broader society and culture compared to 15 years ago.

As to the second, my commute is four hours a day and that isn’t going to change any time soon and I have young kids, so there isn’t that much time for me to go out and socialize in general.

So why am I going?

Because it’s “what you do”?

I know the WPATH standards of care. I’m not in crisis. I know roughly how transition will affect my life and relationships.

I think I can safely free up an hour a week of my time and further dis-entangle from the gender-industrial complex.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in counseling, observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

