Facial Hair Removal Update – July 2014

It’s been a while since I’ve checked in about hair removal, so I thought I’d do a quick post.

First off, if you or someone you know is thinking about beard or other hair removal, start NOW. I can’t repeat myself and the wisdom of others enough to point out that this takes a long time.

So far I’ve had 8 laser hair removal sessions, which were about monthly and ended in December 2012, and then started electrolysis again in earnest in October of 2013. I’ve been having electrolysis almost weekly since then and have been averaging about 4 – 4 1/2 hours a month. (I’ve had other sessions in the past, but nowhere near as much as recently.)

The plan has been to clear the cheeks and neck down to a goatee, then a mustache, then be clear, then spot cleanup as necessary.

As of about two months ago, I don’t shave my cheeks any more and as of a month ago, I don’t shave my neck. Both areas still grow sparse hairs here and there that are either very fine and white (not vellum hairs) due to repeated treatments or dark ones that just keep erupting.

When I do shave, I’m only shaving my goatee area, which is the only place where I still have active, “dense” hairs. I put dense in quotes because there are sparse compared to someone who hasn’t had laser treatments, but it’s dense enough to where if I don’t shave for a couple of days, it’s noticeable.

Long story short, I’m over a year and a half in, and I still have a ways to go but I know I’m more than halfway done. I can see and feel the progress, and it makes me happy.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in hair removal, transition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

