Love Is Not Enough

My wife and I love each other. This is not in question. But love is not enough to keep us together.

I continue to move further away from what she wants and what she built her dreams on, so we’re now looking to the end of our marriage. This was my second marriage, and one thing I learned from my first dissolution is that there are two sides to every story.

Our story ends with both heroines feeling abandoned.

She feels abandoned because I’m no longer the man she fell in love with and expected to spend the rest of her life with.

I feel abandoned because I’m being rejected for who I am and because I’m not enough for her.

Even with the love, an insurmountable gap grows between us.

I’m not bitter, just sad.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in family, observations, personal history, transition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Is Not Enough

  1. trixwoodz says:

    My wife’s divorce, she filed, I signed, because it needed to be. But also, I hoped it would make her happy. For 28 years I lived, to see the smile on her face.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trixwoodz says:

    Hey Heather, thank you so much, for your empathy and wishes. Too often, I have felt so fucking alone, for much of my life. It seems only another trans person is able to truly know the mindfucks, emotions, and dysphoria, we endure. My kids are grown and gone on w/their lives. The one I chose to grow old with, wanted the man I tried to be. Not me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

