HRT Week 34 Review

[Looking for information about male to female hormone replacement therapy dosing and effects? Read my Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post.]

Week: 34

Dose: 5 mg/day estradiol

Weight: 182 lbs.

Physical: I had a follow-up appointment with my doctor yesterday to check on a few things and get my blood work done, and everything is looking good. She said I’m clearly in Tanner Stage 3 of breast development.

One of the things I checked in on today was breast bud development and what was excessive/could be concerning given a family history of breast cancer, and I learned that if you have a lump/mound/mass that doesn’t mirror on the other breast, that’s when you should have it checked with a mammogram. She also said that she’s only aware of less than 10 trans women who developed breast cancer after taking hormones, so that put me more at ease.

We talked about dosages and hormone levels, and if adding an anti-androgen would do anything. My testosterone levels are already very low without them, and we decided that adding the anti-androgen wasn’t necessary. She floated the idea of shifting to injectable estrogen, and I’m not very interested in that due to not wanting to have to deal with medical waste (spent needles) and having to get jabbed.

She did suggest letting the tablets dissolve under my tongue, and I’ve seen some people on Twitter mention this, too. She said that it appears that it can increase estradiol absorption and increase overall estrogen levels, so I’ll switch to that. My blood was drawn, so we’ll see what my estrogen levels come out at before deciding if we increase my dosage again.

Emotional: I am not having fun on the roller coaster right now. I have wrote a separate post [trigger warning: suicidal thoughts] coming to cover this.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in HRT, transition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HRT Week 34 Review

  1. Sure thing, the less pills the better for your health and well-being, and that tip of letting the estrogen pill dissolve, I’ll start doing that too, hoping it reduces the stress on the liver processing all those pill ..

    Wishing you best of luck ..

    Like

Leave a Reply

