Too much estrogen!

[Looking for detailed information about male to female hormone replacement therapy dosing and effects? Read my Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post. You might also be interested in The Transwoman’s Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) Tracking Chart, which I’ve used below.]

My 2014 HRT levels

My 2014 HRT levels (Click for full size)

At my last blood work, my hormone levels were close but not quite where I and my doctor wanted them, so we upped my dose to 6mg estradiol a day. I went back in earlier this month for blood work to check where they went, and well, you can see the results above.

If I was a cis female, these levels would be pregnancy levels of estrogen!

Looking back over my past few weeks reviews, they were characterized by emotional instability and general feelings of feeling…off. With this data in hand, we’ve dropped my dose back down to 5mg/day, and after a few days, I already feel more stable and my body feels less weird.

What I find amazing is that it looks like somewhere between 5-6mg/day is my personal titration point where the estradiol starts having non-linear effects. I’m supposed go back in  January for more blood work, so I’m going to be very interested to see where things settle down at.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in health, healthcare, HRT, personal history and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too much estrogen!

  1. Pingback: HRT Week 47 Review | Becoming Me

  2. Pingback: HRT update – January 2015 | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

