Coming out is getting easier

I spotted a family friend during my commute tonight and she was gracious enough to give me a ride home, and I took the opportunity to come out to her. She was an easy person to disclose to, as I knew that she already knew through the grapevine, but usually I’ve always had a bit of a flutter in my stomach when coming out.

The last time I came out was to my kids right before Christmas, and that was really hard, so I had some anxiety right before I did it. As it turns out, it was nothing. It was easy, it was natural, and she told me she was really happy for me and that her and her husband supported me and wanted to help how they could.

That was really affirming!

I think it’s a practice thing. The more often I’ve done it, the more I know what to say and how to say it, what the likely questions will be, and the range of how most people will react.

It might also help that I’m pretty much over hiding myself and feeling ashamed about it, so it’s like talking about anything else going on in my life.

It’s just no big deal. 🙂

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, friends, personal history, self-acceptance, transition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

