HRT Week 54 Review

Transition experiences: The weekend generated a few interesting experiences as those are my days to be myself. The highlights were an older man who waiting outside the men’s room that I went in with my son at a park who either didn’t want to be in the bathroom with me or thought that I was a mother in a mens room; running into my son’s schoolmate’s parents who didn’t bat an eye at me with makeup and a purse; my wife and I talking about a potential vacation this summer likely right after I transition to visit her family and how judgmental they would be; and a guy at Target who ma’am’d me and asked if he could tell my kids a joke. And some stares here and there.

My subjective experience was that when presenting female, most direct or indirect interactions were no different than my experiences presenting as male. While the background noise of smiles and smirks seemed a bit higher, people were respectful. I couldn’t tell you if that’s passing privilege. I also couldn’t tell you if I’m visibly trans or not. I get signals that I am and am not.

As long as no one is directly in my face about it, I try not to worry about it much.

Emotional: I’ve been angry this week about our family finances that have overshadowed other things going on.

Physical: I’ve mostly dropped the crud I had.

I’m starting to see the effects of reduced or slowing-growing body hair. It seemed a few months ago that I was shaving my chest every week or so and now it’s every second or third week.

I also bought a few b-cup bras to try on and was pleasantly surprised to find one of them fit rather well.

Weight: 182 lbs.

Dose: 5 mg/day estradiol

[Looking for detailed information about male to female hormone replacement therapy dosing and effects? Read the Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post. You might also be interested in The Transwoman’s Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) Tracking Chart.]

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in HRT, transition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

