My kids started using my name!

My kids have been home the past few days with a fever and I took the day off yesterday to take care of them. While we were playing outside they spontaneously started calling me Heather and referred to me as she and her!

We were playing a game in our treehouse with my eldest behind the window buying things and me and my youngest bringing up pieces of wood and other things and selling them to him. He had grabbed a Sharpie pen earlier and was keeping track of how much he had paid us, and he wrote my name down as Heather:

  

After that, both of them just started to call me that until the game was over, and then I was back to dad.

Not only was it tremendously affirming to have my kids call me by my name, it was a very pleasant surprise that they started using it on their own without prompting.

The last time I had broached the name thing with them, my eldest decided he’d call me ‘mum’ in the future. He then said, “This is all you ever talk about now, dad,” and I backed off and haven’t brought it up since.

I still haven’t heard mum, but I’ll take Heather and it’s great to hear it’s stuck!

🙂

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, family, transition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My kids started using my name!

  1. Pingback: HRT Week 84 Review | Becoming Me

  2. Pingback: Dad, dad, dad! | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

