Dad, dad, dad!

Ny name is Heather. I’m living my life more and more as the woman I’ve always wanted to be. I’m just me when I’m out and about either by myself or with my kids.

But when I’m with my kids, ages 6 and 9, I’m, “Dad, dad, dad!” everywhere we go.

I’ve talked to them about what to call me, asking them what they’d like to call me but nothing super-clear has yet to emerge. They have used my name, but never when we’re out. So invariably, no matter how well I’m being me and having people see me as me when I’m out with them, they out me. Over and over and over and over.

People around me look, then stare, then their eyes go wide or narrow. Some have the light bulb go off while others laugh, sometimes elbowing their companions.

I’ve talked to them both about this, but there’s been no change over several months and they keep doing it, even when I ask them not to call me dad.

Now what? Any suggestions? Just accept it and wait until they’re older and understand?

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, family, personal history, transition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad, dad, dad!

  1. Nour S says:

    Hey Heather,
    Well, I think it’s just hard for them yet to digest .. you can’t just let this make you feel bad in fact you’d feel more proud of yourself .. You’re being yourself, while being a really good parent and taking good care of them ..

    Kids are also really smart, so you must not let it show on you that you’re not okay with that, nor that it’s getting at you ..

    Personally, I’d say just let it be, totally ignore it, so you’re being outed, so what ?? I’m sure you have seen worse days, just ignore it, and reply to them similar to ” …. you’re your momy’s sweetheart, aren’t you !!” one step at a time they’ll get to it ..

    But hey, this is my own personal suggestion and opinion .. I hope i could shed some light here for a similar situation i was in ..

    Lover,
    Nour

    Like

  2. Pingback: Week 133 – Mom, mom, mom! | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

