Mulling over the way forward

This has been a good news/bad news week.

The good news is that I’ve had two separate follow-up interviews for different companies, and now I’m waiting to hear back if either one of them wants to make me an offer. I’m cautiously optimistic that both might and I’m really trying hard not to count any chickens before they’re hatched, but I have good feelings on both.

In the bad news, my wife’s house deal fell through this morning, which means she likely won’t be moving out any time soon because she didn’t have a contingency plan. And there was a speed bump from her end on getting some paperwork signed for our divorce with some last-minute changes that will need to be reviewed by my lawyer; this after she had represented that we were ready to sign. And my team at work was re-organized, so I have a new boss and am already being asked to do work that I have no idea how to do. And my kids have been acting up this week due to all the tension in the air.

All of this has me mulling the next few months. I’m concerned that since what I’ve considered to be the easiest part of my divorce has turned hard, that the rest of it will be even harder, delaying filing and eventual approval. (Washington state has a minimum 90-day waiting period between filing and final dissolution approval.)

I had hoped that we would be filed by the end of the month and then we’d be done by the end of the year, which would put my name change and transition on track for January. But now, I’m starting to think: why wait?

My thinking around waiting was to avoid the name change prior to divorce to avoid getting ensnared in red tape around my name. As I’ve also been thinking about starting a new job and then having to transition just a few months later, it seems like it would be disruptive to everyone involved; me, my employer, and coworkers. So, I’m also coming around to starting any new job as Heather.

I haven’t made any decisions yet, but I’m tired of putting things off and being in limbo. I’m past ready to move on.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, divorce, family, personal history, transition, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mulling over the way forward

  1. Pingback: HRT Week 86 Review | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

