Was it love

Was it love when we met
And our bodies trembled with desire?

Was it love when we hiked in the woods
And laughed and loved in a wet tent?

Was it love when we massaged away the knots
And reveled in each other?

Was it love when we made a life
And marveled at their breaths?

Was it love in the home we bought
And put pictures of our adventures up?

Was it love when we made another
And they made us so, so tired?

Was it love when I was struggling to tell you
And you made it clear you didn’t want to hear?

Was it love when I bared my soul
And you rejected me with anger?

Was it love that made you so angry
And led you to think I deceived you?

Was it love that made you advertise yourself
To make yourself feel better?

Was it love that sent you down the bottle and bong
To escape from the reality of me?

Was it love that made you try to stay
And look beyond who I am?

Was it love that brought the disgust you felt
When my body started to change?

Was it love you felt the last time we made love
And you abandoned our bed?

Was it love that fed your anger at me
When I shattered your future dreams?

Was it love when I reached out
And you turned away?

Was it love when we screamed at each other
Over how lonely we were together?

Was it love when you kissed him
A man which I could no longer be?

Was it love when I tried to apologize
And it didn’t matter anymore?

Was it love to leave me
Was it love?

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Was it love

  1. Nour S says:

    {{{{{{{Giving a big hug}}}}}}} I wish I can give a real hug .. Thinking of you ..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

