Paperwork pain

After months of back-and-forth with my future ex-wife and being stuck in the vortex of it not being a priority for her, we finally came to terms on how to divide our assets and signed the contract on that today.

This has brought me equal parts relief and sadness. The relief is that half of our potentially contentious marriage dissolution is complete, with the other half being the parenting plan and attending divorce paperwork. The sadness is that it’s a tangible reminder that our tender relationship is irrevocably over.

This also puts me one step closer to my transition.

I made a decision a while ago to put it off until I change my name, which will happen after our divorce is final. I want to avoid the possibilities of ending up in court and having to explain the, ‘Well, I used to go by [deadname] and now I go by Heather…’ situation and the paperwork being screwed up because of it. Maybe I’m being overly cautious about that, but I’m weird that way.

It sounds like she’s ready to discuss the rest of our paperwork next week, so there’s a possibility we might file before the end of year, putting a name change and transition for me some time in April. Finally.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, divorce, family, personal history, transition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

