Hair Removal Update – December 2015

As always, if you or someone you know is thinking about beard or other hair removal, start NOW. I can’t repeat myself and the wisdom of others enough to point out that this takes a very long time.

It’s been a little more than a year since my last update and I’ve made some solid progress. Naturally blonde to begin with, I have few dark hairs left. My cheeks seem to be 99.9% clear, my neck is about 95%, and the under chin and goatee area is about 80% clear. In short, my first full facial clearing should happen in the next few months!

The net effect is that my dysphoria around my facial hair has mostly dissipated. The downside is that when I do have a crop of darker or thicker hair that comes in, it puts me in a dysphoric funk until it’s gone. When I do shave my face, it’s blissfully short and I can now go days without shaving and not feel like a bearded lady.

As has been usual for me, I’ve had some great regular stretches and then frustrating gaps around electrolysis appointments.

The regular stretches came when my technician wasn’t changing out from underneath me, I was able to get some insurance coverage, and I was able to get in for ninety minute sessions. I’d say I averaged about four hours a month this past year, with some months around six and some none. Since I’ve shifted to joint custody mode in October I’ve tried to shift my appointments to two hours every other week.

Yesterday was my most recent appointment for 90 minutes, and in a sign of how far I’ve come in the past year, I have no visible darker hairs on my face and almost all of the clear/white ones are gone as well. The only hairs left after these longer sessions are thin, clear ones that are very hard to see and find, and stubble undergrowth that has yet to break the skin.

I’m hopeful that by the time I transition in (likely) April, my facial electrolysis will be in maintenance mode and I’ll be well on to having other ares of my body being worked on, like my chest, hands, and feet.

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in hair removal, transition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

