HRT Week 110 Review

Transition Experiences: As part of my checklist for transition, I mailed my extended family to let them know of my transition date and get everyone on the same page. So far, everyone who has reached out has been really great, with the younger generation unsurprisingly being the most supportive.

Electrolysis continues to be a happy thing now. I had two hours this past Saturday, and she finished up early because there just wasn’t anything she could get to easily. I have a one hour session booked for Saturday and I might even cancel it because I don’t even have more than a couple of hairs growing out right now. It really amazes me that I’m close to being done.

I did some shopping afterwards and had a bra fitting for the first time. It was quick, efficient and helpful to know what size I should be looking for. (It was exactly what I thought it was – go figure.)

Sunday Few and I went to the ATT store to finally split our phone bill and I was a bit nervous about having to out myself, but I was pleasantly surprised by the professionalism of the person who helped us. He didn’t skip a beat after looking at my guy ID and I noticed he even once almost said ‘he’ but changed his construction to use my name.

Emotional: I’m not sure how I am here. Work is in a very demanding phase right now and I’ve been so busy with that, it’s been consuming much of my energy. My special needs kid has also been generating stress with behaviors at school that put demands on me emotionally to deal with.

After he had another event and the third request from the school for a meeting, I realized that I’m in caregiver burnout, and that’s even as I’m only a part-time parent now. No one expects their kid to require additional attention and accommodations. I certainly didn’t. Given the nature of his needs, they tend to be variable and there are emergent behaviors that require continual shifting of strategies and support systems. It’s just been emotionally exhausting, and he’s only 9 1/2. There are still years to go here, and part of me wants to run away from it.

I won’t do that, but I am having to dust off the not very dusty thoughts about shifting my life around to home school him. He’s had trouble with school since he was a kindergartener, and it may just be that he will never work well within the public school system. Given his needs, a private school might not be any better.

Physical: I’m stress eating and chewing my fingernails; key signs that I’m stressed out and not taking good care of myself. I need to be going to bed earlier, but I find myself dawdling and staying up late.

Weight: 175 lbs.

Dose: 7 mg/day estradiol via tablets, split into AM/PM doses of 4mg/3mg.

[Looking for detailed information about male to female hormone replacement therapy dosing and effects? Read my Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post. You might also be interested in The Trans Woman’s Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) Tracking Chart I created.]

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in HRT, transition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

