Pre-transition Special Edition – HRT Week 111 Review

I’ve changed my final transition date to April 1, 2016!

Yesterday I spoke with my HR contact at work, and received unequivocal support after some misfires in contacting her. This moves my date up by five weeks from May 9.

Why the change? I have a previously booked vacation set for the first week of April and as I thought about it, informing my work colleagues and letting the news percolate through the organization while I’m out seemed better than letting people know on a Friday and then returning Monday

This will also hopefully let the gossip mill grind away and mostly exhaust itself before my return. It also gives me more time to mentally prepare for my return and sift through the email tsunami I know it will generate.

I have a meeting booked with my manger Monday to tell him and after that, I’ll inform the rest of the management chain above him. I’ll send my email to the company Thursday night, update my preferred name in our systems, and work from home Friday the 1st*. I’m on vacation the following week and will then return as Heather Monday, 11 April.

Meanwhile, I’ll get my legal name change going and will have that on deck for about the time my divorce is final in early May.

The realization that the time is here is still sinking in. I’m 6 days and 10 hours out from sending my email as I write this. It feels surreal.

I’m going to rock this. Old life personal relationship ends are tied up.

I’m ready. I’m happy. Onward!

(I’ll return to my regularly scheduled format next week.)

* Now I have a meeting I must come in for that Friday. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, divorce, HRT, observations, personal history, self-acceptance, transition, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pre-transition Special Edition – HRT Week 111 Review

  1. SeekingClarity says:

    I love reading this and I am so happy for you! Going through a divorce and transition at the same time must be incredibly hard but it sounds like no matter what you are on the right path. Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: HRT Week 112 Review | Becoming Me

  3. Pingback: Hello, World! Part five. | Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

