HRT Week 119 Review

Transition Experiences: While I haven’t had any bathroom problems, I still try to avoid rush hours and seek less populated ones when I can. Washington is a fairly liberal state and the Seattle area more so, but with all of the transgender bathroom noise here (there’s a trans-exclusionary initiative petition circulating statewide) and elsewhere I’ve heightened my already elevated situational awareness in public spaces. (Semi-random future post idea: The Cisgender Terror Alert infographic.)

Yesterday I was running late for work and had to duck into a very busy bathroom to do my hair. I’ve never used a public bathroom for primping so I wasn’t prepared to encounter about six other women crowded around the lounge mirrors doing their makeup and gossiping. My usual bathroom modus operandi is to just imagine I’m the only person in there, which keeps my motions fluid and keeps my attention on my task. I must have done some sort of slight hitch on my way in, because five of them turned to look at me after I rounded the corner.Knowing that I belonged, I kept moving forward while smiling and beelined for an open spot. They all turned back to their primping and no one’s conversation stopped, but I’ll admit to feeling very self-conscious and mildly anxious that someone might try and talk to me. No one did, and I was on my way.

At work, I’ve only run into a couple of other women in the bathroom. All except one have been no big deal. The one case is a woman who looked flustered/surprised when I walked in and she hightailed it out pronto. It’s hard to say what was going on there. I don’t think it was about me, but being trans in a bathroom does make me wonder if it was.

Emotional: It’s been a shitty week. My special needs kid has been super-high maintenance with shouting and physical aggression, work has been intense, and being sick and low on sleep has left me exhausted and running on empty. The kids head back to their mom’s tonight and I’m looking forward to a restful week ahead.

Physical: Today’s my last day of 10 days of antibiotics and I still have some coughing jags here and there. I’ve been feeling super run down and tired. My weight is still troubling to me and it’s frustrating that it has climbed back up and come back in more typically male places.

Weight: 180 lbs.

Dose: 7 mg/day estradiol via tablets, split into AM/PM doses of 4mg/3mg.

[Looking for detailed information about male to female hormone replacement therapy dosing and effects? Read my Brief Overview of Feminizing Hormones post. You might also be interested in The Trans Woman’s Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) Tracking Chart I created.]

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in HRT, transition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

