Hair Removal Update – October 2016

As always, if you or someone you know is thinking about beard or other hair removal, start NOW. I can’t repeat myself and the wisdom of others enough to point out that this takes a very long time. I’ve been at it for years and I’m still not done.

For most of the past year, I’ve kept a regular schedule of 90 minute electrolysis sessions every other week. For the past few months, these sessions have provided full facial clearings of all the hairs my technician could find. I’m naturally light-haired and mature (ahem) so that means there are always some clear (or white or gray) hairs she misses, but for all intents and purposes it’s a clearing.

What is left to work on is a very sparse crop on my upper lip/goatee area and under my chin, and the occasional, random straggler on my neck or cheek.

The past few sessions she’s finished with time to spare, so I’ve had her attack some hair on my chest and hands. Even then there was some time left over, so we dropped the time down to 60 minutes. With my new schedule, I decided to try breaking that into a 30 minute session every week and yesterday was my first try at that.

She finished early again, so it’s clear I need the two-week grow-out period. With that being the case, I’ve now set up 45 minute appointments for every other week. Talking with my tech, she said that once we get to the point of reducing those to 30 minute sessions and then having those end early, it’ll be my choice between shifting to every three weeks or reducing further to 15 minute sessions.

Compared to where I started from, two-hour sessions when it was impossible to tell afterwards that any hair had been removed, it’s really quite remarkable! At the current trajectory, 2017 should be the year that I end regular sessions, I am so looking forward to putting this phase of transition behind me.

©Heather Coldstream

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in hair removal, transition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hair Removal Update – October 2016

  1. croftale says:

    I started with 8 sessions of laser. Cleared some on upper lip, but most was grey or white. Started back on electro. Been doing 60’s every week. With me it is what I can afford.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

