Born again

My amended birth certificate arrived in the mail on Saturday, and it made me the happiest I’ve felt on this gender journey so far. It’s really something to see “Sex FEMALE” on the certificate, and I’ve been peeking at it a couple times a day just to savor it.

Being able to look at my birth certificate with my real name and the correct gender marker is nothing short of exhilarating. Everything I’ve been through the past few years feels distilled down into a sense of indescribable achievement.

This was the last government identification I’ve been waiting on to have updated. Last year after changing my name, I updated my Social Security card, my voter registration, my driver’s license, and my passport.

Unless some bureaucrat goes digging in my files to look for the paper trail, as far as the government is concerned, [deadname] the guy doesn’t exist any more. No more will I have to suffer the indignity of paperwork not agreeing with reality.

I am Heather, born female. I have been reborn.

©Heather Coldstream


Please consider supporting my writing by buying one of my poetry collections from the Kindle store!

2016: Poems from a Year of Change

Uncertain: Poems About Gender Transition

Thank you!

About cistotrans

A Seattle-area trans woman seeking a happy spot to stay at along the path of transition.
This entry was posted in coming out, gender transition, personal history, transgender, transition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Born again

  1. Connie Dee Ingalls says:

    How wonderful! I am just beginning the passport change, but I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to change my birth certificate. I was born in Arizona, and they currently require GRS to even consider changing my gender (they did when last I looked into it, anyway). It doesn’t seem fair, seeing as I moved from there 64 years ago. Oh well, I’m still happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PoojaG says:

    Wow congratulations on your achievement!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lesboi says:

    Congratulations Heather!! That’s awesome news and I know it’s a wonderful feeling. Personally, I haven’t felt the need to change my BC but I changed everything else and I know the thrill it gives me to see that M on my driver’s license. Still waiting on my passport but that will be equally thrilling. It’s so wonderful to finally feel aligned and right in the world. Very happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cistotrans says:

      Thank you so much and I’m happy to hear things are where they should be for you! I was happy when I got my passport, too. I know you’ll have the same happiness. It’s so nice not to have to fight our identification documents. Take care.

      Like

  4. Sounds amazing!, so happy for you

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just got mine recently also. I am working on my military records now.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bethanyk says:

    Happy rebirth as the way it should have been

    Liked by 1 person

  7. loveonastick says:

    This is AWESOME!!!! Congratulations!!! I cannot wait for the day my daughter gets her (fully) amended birth cert. so thrilled for you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

